Er zijn geen producten in de winkelwagen.
Welkom , login of registreer
(Artikelnr: 22750)
The Collected Works of Billy The Kid The - Ondaatje, Michael - 9780965085403
Conditie: Goed

From the Booker Prize-winning author of The Eglish Patient, these four works by Michael Ondaatje span both the author’s career and his means of literary expression-novel memoir, and poetry. In The Collected Works Billy the Kid (1970), a visionary novel about the icon of American violence, William Bonney kills his first man at the age of twelve. Drawing on contemporary accounts, period photographs, dime novels, and his own prodigious fund of empathy and imagination, Ondaatje traces Billy’s passage across the blasted landscape of 1880 New Mexico and the collective unconscious of his country. In the late 1970s Ondaatje returned to his native island of SriLanka (formerly Ceylon). Running in the Family (1982) records his journey through the druglike heat and intoxicating fragrances of that ‘’pendant off the ear of India,’’ retracing the baroque mythology of his Dutch-Ceylonese family. Lyrical and witty, tragic and deliriously romantic, Running in the Family is an inspired marriage of travel nar-rative and family memoir. In the Skin of a Lion (1987), a dazzling predecessor to Onderdaatje’s The English Patient and the novel which the characters of Hana, the orphaned girl, and Caravaggio, the thief, appear for the first time, is a work that bristles with intelligence and shimmers with romance as it tests the boundary between history and myth. Patrick Lewis, newly arrived in the Toronto of the 1920s, earns his living searching for a vanished millionaire and tunneling beneath Lake Ontario, in the course of his adventures falling in love with two actresses. Out of these branching, doubling stories, Ondaatje creates a dreamlike and surreal world in a work of unalloyed enchantment that is beautifully written and expansively imagined. If Ondaatje’s novels have the compression and imagistic power of poetry, his poems often read like narratives that have been pared down to their mysterious essence. Spanning twenty-seven years and representing the best poems from Ondaatje’s hard-to-find earlier editions, The Cinmamon Peeler (1991) is a masterpiece of intelligence and ardor, informed by rueful wit, sensitivity to nature, and an exultant love of language.       
Prijs per stuk:
€ 2,95
Het aantal spaarpunt(en) dat je voor dit product ontvangt is 2
Aantal: Bestellen


€ 6,95 






Sorteren op:

Geen reviews gevonden.

Deze website gebruikt cookies om het bezoek te meten, er worden geen persoonlijke gegevens opgeslagen.